Dissolution

I would run the risk of being an eerie clown
negotiating a condition
when I paint my cheeks red
from the scowl I’d get
if I said hello to you
from the pew behind you

It’s okay
who trusts strangers nowadays anyway

I wish we all were naked
literally like cave men

You wouldn’t have the advantage
of the zipper
that holds your cinnamon back precariously
bursting like earth with humans
or suburban drains clogged with extra babies

The wind would scatter the gold of your arms
you fasten the kameez with, thread by thread,
teeth by teeth
(I’m drawn to think another man, but I shudder)
and you would abscond my wanton eyes
as commonplace dust
rather than sitting there a flame
blobbing under the headscarf

3 thoughts on “Dissolution

Leave a Reply

