Gazing

I couldn’t believe my friend did that absurd t-shirt signing thing kids do when their final year gets over. Each one roams around the campus, names on the chest multiplying like black and blue leaves reaching excited shoulders. I wonder if they get tangled when they hug each other with passion. Though wouldn’t that be good since the kids don’t want to let go of each other. Like conjoined twins, or a conjoined group, if you will.

She is one of the best people I know. I texted her and she remarked if I wasn’t ashamed.

I wouldn’t call it shame. Shame comes when a person approximates another with society as the touchstone. I wasn’t comparing her with anyone. I was just keeping her beliefs by my side, and after stepping out of my body, gazing at the two, like an old man and the moon.

Leave a Reply

